Advice on fee

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on fee

I'm probably making too much of this but just wondered what people think.

I've been doing part-time locums for about six years since I sold my own pharmacy - I was hoping to be able to retire but couldn't quite afford it on what I made from the sale. Most of my work is for a small independent pharmacy - it's lovely to work in, staff are great, patients generally reasonable, no targets on stupid free services that nobody wants or needs! I don't even do MURs as there isn't a consultation room.

When I first started working there we agreed a rate of £25 an hour - I suggested this based on what I paid locums and the proprietor agreed as it was the same as he was paying his other regular. There's never any delay with payment - everything runs very smoothly. However, I haven't increased my rate in six years and wonder whether it's time I did. I've resisted so far because I know independent proprietors are really feeling the pinch but my cost of living has gone up in six years (and the pharmacy window cleaner has just given himself an 8% pay rise!). I don't think there would be any argument if I did increase but just feel a bit uncomfortable doing it.

Any thoughts?

I'm working at independents as locum - odd days, sometimes a full week. The going rate here is £21 to £24 per hour. Agree to ask for rise is difficult given the current situation, but as you say our costs have increased! Often think maybe I should re-train as a plumber!!

Comment

Thanks - forgot to mention that I'm in an area where locums are thin on the ground and the only time anyone else is asked to work here it's because I'm not available (and an agency will be involved).

Comment

I used to get £25/hr ten years ago. Would not be likely to obtain that these days. All depends on supply and demand.
        Johnep

Comment

Fairly sure I'd get it - just not sure it's appropriate to ask for it!

Comment