This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• npa chemists defence assosiation

Dear all, I am an employer pharmacist, but am very sympathetic to the demise of employee
    pharmacists withour whom the world would come to a standstill.
    I hope I have always treated them with respect and been fair to them.
    Recently I made a dispensing error, I checked a prescription for chloramphenicol eye drops but did not notice that the ear drops were infact labelled in front of me.
    I have had all hell to pay, The patient reported it to the PCT even though I visited the patient with the correct formulation less than 24 hours after the event. The drops were never administered to this baby but unfortunately I am at the written apology stage.
    I put a copy of this letter of apology in front of the CDA and asked the on duty pharmacy advisor about the content of the reply. I was astounded that he was totally useless,
    He was very critical of me without foundation and agreed with the patient that my visit to the
    patients house with the correct formulatioin was harrassment.
    I was very calm during my conversation with im but came away feeling that the NPA was as much use as a chocolate fire guard at protecting their members.
    I would love to have the PDA to represent me but they only work for pharmacy employees.
    Does anyone know of any other legal defence team that could support pharmacy owners?
    With support from the CDA like this I may aswell close shop now, I hope this response from the NPA was just one bad member of staff, if so how do I go about telling someone in the NPA about him.

Re: npa chemists defence assosiation

I was saddened when I read your post. This shows how much pharmacists are vulnerable and unfairly treated.

Try to call the "Listening Friends" Tel (helpline): 020 7572 2442, Tel (admin): 01323 890 135, 24 hour answerphone service. They are pharmacists and might be able to suggest a solution!