Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• occasional locum

good evening everybody,
    I am an employee pharmacist and I would like to do some occasional saturdays as locum, I wonder how will I be paid? I mean will the company pay me the gross pay so I will need to make my own declaration at the end of the year or will they pay me as an employee, detucting taxes?

thanks

Re: occasional locum

Hi and welcome

They will probably pay you as a self employed person, so you'll have to get your own accounts, tax etc done. I know a very good accountant if you need one.
    Lively debate is encouraged but please respect the opinions and feelings of others.
    Please help keep the forum vibrant by spreading the work to friends and colleagues via word of mouth or social media.
    Thank you for contributing to this site.

Comment

I did this for many years. Open a business account with ,say, nationwide who will pay you interest rather than charge you as the big banks do.
      I made a 'loss' for many years and was able to set this against paye.
      On retirement just carried on and started making a profit.
      johnep

Comment

Originally posted by johnep View Post
        I did this for many years. Open a business account with ,say, nationwide who will pay you interest rather than charge you as the big banks do.
        I made a 'loss' for many years and was able to set this against paye.
        On retirement just carried on and started making a profit.
        johnep
        I am lost :-)
        so the company will pay me as self-employed, I need to save around 25% in order to pay the taxes at the end of the year, better in a good bank account.
        at this point the question is how to pay taxes... can I ask to my employer to add them to my PAYE or will I need to produce some documents at the end of the year?
        I read on the HM website that under £2500 I probably don't need to produce a self assessment form but it is not very clear.