Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locum advice

I would appreciate any help.

I am a former community pharmacist proprietor but have done no pharmacy work for the last 10 years. However I have kept up my active registration and have attendes CPD lectures. I now wish to return to community pharmacy as a locum from next April to help me through my retirement years.

What do I need to do to update myself with courses, computers etc to enable me to return to practice as a part-time locum pharmacist with reasonable expectations of work and, if I can, how much should I expect to earn working in a moderately busy pharmacy? I would be available for block bookings.

Re: Locum advice

Start off by working in a large pharmacy with perhaps 2-3 pharmacists. You will be confined to checking at first probably and perhaps some counselling.

BTC have such pharmacies in city centres.

Otherwise contact a few of your local pharmacists and offer to work FOC for a couple of weeks. Lloyds also have a training scheme for overseas pharmacists which could be applicable to you.

good luck, I returned to community after 30 years in industry. It was a very steep learning curve but has meant a very comfortable retirement. Most weeks I try to work just a cople of days but its three days this week.

Patterns of trade vary over the country but saturdays usually quiet.

A 100 hour supermarket is often very quiet on the early morning or late shift.

Sunday rotas can be busy but frequently I dispense only one or two scripts.
    johnep

Comment

Originally posted by johnep View Post
      Start off by working in a large pharmacy with perhaps 2-3 pharmacists. You will be confined to checking at first probably and perhaps some counselling.

BTC have such pharmacies in city centres.

Otherwise contact a few of your local pharmacists and offer to work FOC for a couple of weeks. Lloyds also have a training scheme for overseas pharmacists which could be applicable to you.