a bit of a surprise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• a bit of a surprise

I'm new to this forum and just been browsing for the last few hours (anything to avoid my essay) and must say am a bit surprised by the apparent lack of satisfaction in Pharmacy! Anyways, I've been considering Pharmacy quite a lot lately. I'm a graduate with a BSc and soon to finish an MSc (both in medica/pharmacology related subjects) and I suppose I've been looking at Pharm because of its well documented job security and and financial stability. I would eventually like to go into clinical pharmacology research, possibly in industry but some of my tutors have expressed how hard it is to get into this field and the insecurities that may come with this. Also, I seriously screwed up my A levels which prevented me from entering in at 18.

I'll definately go and find some people to talk to very soon and maybe get more work experience, but is this lack of satisfaction just the view of three or four people or is this a widespread thing? Also, is it therefore inadvisable to invest 4/5 years at this stage. Any comments will be appreciated.

Re: a bit of a surprise

Well, why did you start your present course? What were you hoping to do in the end? Were you badly advised?
    Tell us more.
    johnep

Comment

Nah, it wasn't anything to do with being badly advised I don't think. When I finished my last degree my project supervisor was trying to get me to do his PhD, but I didn't feel I was ready at that stage, mainly because I didn't think I wanted to spend the next 3/4 years on the topic I did for my final year project.