Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• studying pharmacy at Bath or Aston

Hi,
    I am going to start my pharmacy course this year. However, I am not sure if I should go for Bath or Aston as I got an unconditional offer from both. I was wondering if anybody could tell me at which of these two universities I would get a better quality of teaching.
    Thanks,

Re: studying pharmacy at Bath or Aston

Bath is a lovely town in a nice part of the world. If you want fun and games, then Aston being near Brum should prove more lively.
    johnep

Comment

Both Aston and Bath are good universities, and will have a high standard of teaching. I did my degree at Aston and we had some fantastic lecturers. In fact I was so impressed that I'm doing a postgrad diploma at Aston despite living in Kent.

IMO, where you choose to go should be based on where you think you will feel the most comfortable and enjoy yourself most. I don't know a huge amount about Bath as a city, but it has quite a middle class reputation. Birmingham is the second largest city in England and is quite diverse. Aston is really close to the city centre, which was definitely an advantage in my eyes.

One thing to bear in mind with Aston is that there will be a fair amount of construction work as they are building new student residences. It is due to finish September 2010, and will increase the number of places available on campus for final year students.

Comment

I am another ex-Aston person.
        I loved it, very friendly University and lots of on-campus accomodation too. I have no idea how Bath compares.

Comment

Welcome to the club, Scamp.

Pharmacy, like anything else, is what you make it. And don't get too hung up about which University.

Both Bath & Aston have excellent reputations. Pick the place you like the look of as first choice, enjoy your time at Uni and pick up a few "extras" to put on your CV.

Best of luck.

Comment

Originally posted by the old merlin View Post