Year sizes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Year sizes

I'm a current fourth year at uni, there's around 110 people in my year and I consider it big, it certainly isn't a close year, and I find this size has an effect on the lectures and stuff as they are simply too big.

I know there's going to be a potentially serious shortage of pharmacists in the near future, but I've heard that next year's intake is 200. Surely people will lose something and will leave with less skills in a such a big "anonymous" environment. Opportunities for work experience will be limited and people may well end up find themselves being "thorn in at the deep end" with extremely little experience.

Pretty much all theoretical at the moment, but i still think it's a possible cause for concern.

Year Sizes

When I studied pharmacy there were 90 in our group. This was ok for lectures, but quite a lot of our time was then spent in smaller groups, like tutorials, practicals etc. I think having 200 sounds big!

When you say about being thrown in at the deep end, well to be honest you are anyway really. I find that of all the things I learned at college 99% is simply not needed. OK I do work in retail, and there you work alone most of the time, where at least in hospital you have other pharmacists around you.
    Lively debate is encouraged but please respect the opinions and feelings of others.
    Please help keep the forum vibrant by spreading the work to friends and colleagues via word of mouth or social media.
    Thank you for contributing to this site.

Comment

Originally posted by alex
      I'm a current fourth year at uni, there's around 110 people in my year and I consider it big, it certainly isn't a close year, and I find this size has an effect on the lectures and stuff as they are simply too big.