difficulties in pre-reg year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• difficulties in pre-reg year

Please give me some honest information about what this year is really like and what must be done.
    Last edited by parent of pre-reg student; 13, October 2007, 07:20 PM. Reason: problem solved

Re: difficulties in pre-reg year

Originally posted by parent of pre-reg student View Post
    Please give me some honest information about what this year is really like and what must be done. I would like to offer my support to my offspring ( who got a 2.1 Degree) who feels totally inadequate, overwhelmed, unaided, and completly lacking the time needed - but am unsure how. I am a secondary school teacher with many yrs experience of stress and workplace bullying. We are both in so much debt from the 4yr MPharm, I am really worried about failure at the final hurdle. The pre-reg placement is community, working 5 days per wk 9 till 6 with max 4 hrs study time within these hours. How many hours per week must be done above and beyond these hours? Offspring arrives home exhausted in tears fairly often!
    The pre-reg year can give you this isolated feeling.
    It sounds like he/she needs a mentor who has recently qualified. Wonder if there's anyone on the board here who can offer advice?
    47 BC : Julius Cesar : Veni Vidi Vici : I came, I saw I conquered.
    2018 AD : Modern Man : I shopped, I clicked, I collected.
    How times change.

If you find you have read something that has upset or offended you an anyway please unread it at once.

Comment

I must admit to feeling very moved by this parent's post. I just wish I could help, but as I qualified "overseas" (well, over the Channel, anyway!), I escaped the seemingly arbitrary humiliation of the registration exam, so I am in no position to offer advice, only support and reassurance that it will all be worth it in the end!
      Ze genuine Article, present & perfect!

Comment

Welcome pre-reg parent!