• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mature Pharmacy Students

Hi All,

I am new to this forum and have enjoyed reading everyone's messages:

My situation is as follows:

· I am 26 years old.
    · I have a 2:1 degree in BSc Computer Science (graduated in summer 2002).
    · 2.5 A Levels Mathematics (C), Computer Science (C), Further Mathematics AS (C)
    · I am currently working full time as a Financial Accounting Assistant for City Council and am studying CIMA (Chartered Institute of Management Accountants). All fees being paid by the City Council.

After many months I have been seriously questioning my career direction and whether I want to carry on with what I am currently doing as I cannot see myself sitting in front of a computer for the rest of my life. I am seriously interested in studying Pharmacy or even medicine once I complete my CIMA studies. Although most likely I would be more suited to pharmacy even though medicine is regarded as more rewarding, but Pharmacy seems more flexible for a balanced lifestyle.

Basically when I was in sixth form I was seriously discouraged by my teachers due to struggling at A Levels (Bio, Chem and Maths) in the first term of starting them, unfortunately my teachers influenced my goals/ambitions due to my personal lack of confidence at the time and I ended up dropping chemistry, biology and decided to go to college and do the A Levels I mentioned. Now looking back, my biggest regret is letting my teachers, especially my biology teacher influence my personal ambitions by discouraging me the way they did.

My main question is what is would you recommend studying pharmacy and are their many mature students studying pharmacy, like 28 plus.

Look forward to your responses.

Ammo

Mature Students.

Originally posted by ammo2006 View Post
    Hi All,

I am new to this forum and have enjoyed reading everyone's messages:

My situation is as follows:

· I am 26 years old.