Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• teacher thinking of changing profession

Hi
    i am a teacher(31 year old single female woman) who is thinking (and has been for several years) of doing pharmacy. It has now changed to 5 years i realise this and i am no spring chicken. I do enjoy my job as a teacher and it is very rewarding however it just doesn't pay very well for the amount of time you have to put in. If i worked it out i am getting paid less than 10 pounds an hour! and that is not including the extra planning and marking time. When i was 18 years old i got onto a pharmacy course but as the first time away from home i messed around and ending up having to change my course as i screwed up. To cut a long story short I often think of this mistake i made and that what if i was a pharmacist, how much better my life(financially) would be. I know it would be a lot of studying but i am mature and sensible now. However, the question is do you think it would be wise for me to take this step in my life now, or do you think it is too late bareing in mind i would have to support myself for five years without a wage being single.
    thanks for your responses in advance.
    teacher,

Re: teacher thinking of changing profession

Personally, I wouldn't change career just for financial reasons, studying is expensive work and you'd be in huge amounts of debt before you even start your new higher paid job.
    (If you want to do it for personal reasons/job satisfaction then that's a different matter, you can't put a price on that, but if you're happy in your current job then stick with it IMO)

Good luck either way x

Comment

We had a 31 year old on our course, try the army for a grant. also you could do supply teaching during hols.
      johnep

Comment

Apparently, the oldest person to graduate the pharmacy course at Brighton uni was 64. One of the guys on my course was 43 when he started. 31 is nothing!