Britain in the EU

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Britain in the EU

Hi. I just wondered what people thought about our position in the EU. Obviously it's great for people from eastern europe who have the chance of a better life, but what about people in the west. It's just I read that all major pharmacy chains are actively recruiting in Poland and I was a bit concerned. As a relatively new pharmacist I thought I had a secure future but its looking quite bleak now. There's already a problem with new doctors and physios being able to find work due to poor management and the same here. It's nice to know the RPSGB is looking out for us UK graduates, not. Also allowing GPS to set up a pharmacy in every surgery, thats genius. It's really going to help the real community pharmacies. Obviously 200k a year isn't enough for them! Also why did they end the reciprocal agreement with Oz a fellow Commonwealth member. We had stronger ties with them and India, Pakistan etc than Lithuiania et al. If they reopened agreement a great number of people would prob move (including myself) therefore creating more jobs.

Re: Britain in the EU

Quite agree with you. I did not vote for joining europe in 1973. When I was in export I covered the english speaking countries in the caribbean, Africa and the Med, also far east. The legacy of empire was a considerable sentiment towards the 'old country'. We used to have commonwealth preference which meant we traded on preferential mutual terms with our former colonies.

A New Zealand pharmacist told me that they had a 'butter mountain' to try to sell when they lost the UK as a major market.

Certainly when I was on a Far East tour, I was glad to reach Hong Kong from Thailand where I had felt a bit strange.

The main result of joining the EU has been the take over of our assets by the continentals. (Latest being the Post Office).
    johnep

Comment