Remembrance services

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remembrance services

Just out of curiosity, how do pharmacists out there commemorate Remembrance Day ? Presuming there are no scripts/MUR's/people asking you stuff, does anyone keep two minutes silence ?
    http://i620.photobucket.com/albums/t...snroses2-1.jpg

”We are real. We are not glam sh*t or anything else. We are Guns N’ Roses.”

Re: Remembrance services

Where I'm working today (GP surgery) we are.

As a manager I used to print out a couple of notices to say that we would be observing 2 mins silence and customers were welcome to join in and to respect staff's wish to observe the silence and not ask to be served during that time,and stick them on the front door and on the counter.
    At 10.58ish I used to dial the shop phone from the fax line so that phone did not ring.

There was sometimes a customer who came in during the 2 mins but a quick point at the notice on the counter by a member of staff soon made them aware of why we were all standing quietly and not serving them.
    Titch

Comment

Getting closer to the time we advise customers that we will be observing the 2 minutes silence, one of us usually stands by the door to alert incomming customers during the silence, and the pharmacist takes the phone off the hook. We are on busy bus routes too so them stopping is usually a good pointer too.
      Make some one smile today.

Comment

Oddly enough, observing the silence on 11th is quite recent. I think, though, that it WAS observed on 11th before WWII. When I was young (early 50's) we had the silence on Remembrance Sunday ... quite emotional as the guy who led the service at the local Memorial was a WWI veteran who had lost two sons in WWII. Used to read out the names on the memorial and as he got to the second of his sons his voice would JUST quiver!

On the 11th itself we just got on with it. Unless of course, the 11th happened to be a Sunday!

Comment