US Pharmacist wanted to become licensed in GB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• US Pharmacist wanted to become licensed in GB

I am a licensed pharmacist in the united states, and would like to pursue a pharmacist license in GB. Can anyone offer any helpful hints as to how to proceed? I have heard of the OSPAP and the pre-registration training. Does it mean it will take be at least two years to complete those two and be eligible to sit for the Society's registration examination? How much does the pre-registration year costs?

Re: US Pharmacist wanted to become licensed in GB

At the moment you will have to take the qualifying exam, which normally means spending a year at one of the Uni's which offers the course. I did once know a S African pharmacist who did the exam without the course, but she was very bright and was working in Drug Information so had access to an enormous amount of current info. And she had very supportive colleagues who were anxious to see her qualify and join them, so spent time with her. Also it was several years ago.
    There is then a post-graduate pre-registration year which I have never heard of anyone getting exemption from! There's a structure to it, with competencies to be signed off. It is possible, although unusual, to fail it. There's an exam as well, which has to be passed.

I'm not sure of the costs of the Uni year; Sunderland or Robert Gordons, who both offer the course will tell you. For the pre-reg year you should be able to get a placing in either hospital (admittedly getting fewer and further between) or community pharmacy. While the pay won't allow you to live it up, it should bring in enough bread to keep the wolf from the door, unless you've a family.

Might change as a result of the licensing changes in 2011/12 but the new authority will take, I suspect, a while to get going.

Comment

Originally posted by the old merlin View Post