Serious Dispensing Error. What now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serious Dispensing Error. What now?

I'm a trainee dispenser coming towards the end of my NVQ2. So far I have made a few predictable mistakes - more so with less common drugs that I am unfamiliar with. All of these have been caught in the final check and have never gone further than a near miss and I've worked hard to improve my accuracy using more thorough checking techniques.

This week, during a CD balance check it came to light that a dispensing error has been made around the end of June. A modified release CD was dispensed instead of the standard version. To cut a long story short, we tracked down where the error was made and contacted the patient who has been taking the medication. Thankfully they don't appear to have come to any harm. They brought back the remaining medication, however had thrown all the packaging away so the dispensing initial on the label cannot be traced.

Obviously we need to wait for the Rx to be tracked down but I'm told this could take up to six weeks. Myself and four other dispensers were on duty that day, but as the trainee and least experienced member of staff I feel it is likely to have been my error. Discussed with the boss and a couple of things ring a bell about dispensing a similar Rx however I can't be sure if I'm imagining things in my panic.

I am absolutely mortified, not sleeping and my confidence is shot. I don't know what to expect if it was me and I can't stop going over the details in my head.

I know a report and investigation will follow and my main concern is that no harm came to the patient, however I can't find any information about how this will affect me and my training. Will I be disciplined or not allowed to finish my NVQ?

I love this job and I'm gutted I might have made such a serious error. My pharmacist has been brilliant in dealing with it all and has told me not to worry but I can't help it.