Dispenser Checkers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dispenser Checkers

So been pushing to do some Dispenser Checking qualifications amongst my relief team.
    I've been wondering what are the limitations of being a dispenser checker, that is to say, a Level 2 Dispenser with the Checking Accreditation.
    Are there limits to what one can check, and how does this affect a checker who may work over multiple sites?

I'm curious to find out from someone who's actually one already or knows of one.

If you are looking for a cheap alternativ3 to a checking technician or pharmacist, go ahead, but as a pharmacist you are responsible for every mistake they make. As a tech, I wouldn’t accept them as a checker no matter how much experience they have, and after investigating the requirements for training, where a dispensing qualification is just optional and accuracy training can take three to twelve months then I’m even less likely to support them.

Compare this with an NHS trained tech who spends two years training as a tech, then does a year working as a tech before completing the accuracy checking training. The tech is also registered as a professional andcarries their own responsibility for their own work.

I feel checking dispensers are an anomaly in modern pharmacy and when the GPhC did their recent review of training they should have removed the option for dispensers to check as one of their first actions.

Comment

I appreciate the honesty there, Sparky.

There's definitely a few members I would be reluctant to use as checkers. On the flip side, I've got Techs who have proven to be liabilities as well so I guess it is swings and roundabouts.

I imagine there are a certain items that would never be passed on along the lines of high risks like methotrexate but I was wondering if that a restriction of the qualification or policy.

Comment

I don't think the npa offers the course to non registered professionals anymore.