Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pharmacy Technician Course? HELP!!

Hi

Im new to this and need some serious guidance as i am being given different info by different companies.

I have good science background, GCSE's and A levels and have decided i want to be a Pharmacy Technician.

I have got the following info from City and guilds etc, If i study Pharmacy Services 7356 will this allow me to work as a technician? or will it simply prepare me to complete my NVQ 2and3 when i obtain work as a technician? I think im right in saying i can study NVQ2and3 only instead of 7356? but also it might be worth my while studying the VRQ then the NVQ2and3, i think some colleges offer the 7356 on a full time basis for 6months and then also register you for the NVQ's? so once i have the VRQ i can easily get a job in the Pharmacy so i can get on the job NVQ?

Please help me out?

So if i enroll for the 2 year course NVQ2and3 i go to college once a week for 2 years and complete the course and become a technician (once i have passed) this is correct yes? i think if you go 2 days a week you can do the course in 1 year as working in pharmacy also?

Can i work Voluntarily? or do i need to be employed? also if i do NVQ2and3 i can work full time and complete the course while working?

Its all so confusing to me, i dont want to simply work as a trainee as some pharmacists are so busy and it takes some trainees 5years to complete? this is too long for me as i want to continue to be a ACT?

Some honest help would be great?

Also what price do you guys pay? £1500? £1100? i need some help.

Re: Pharmacy Technician Course? HELP!!

You should be very clear as to what a technician does and what are the career prospect. When I was your age, it was made clear to me that if I did not qualify as a pharmacist, then I should get out. Never go into something where it is impossible for you to reach the top.