Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ACT qualified dispensing checking technician

hi,

Im a pharmacy graduate with a Masters Degree, I also have alot of retail experience. Im exploring other options available to me at the moment. Ive seen jobs been advertised for

'ACT qualified dispensing checking technician'

I was wondering how you would actually get this qualification, do you have to study a course or start on the job training. If you have any useful contacts please let me know here.
    ECDR.UK

Re: ACT qualified dispensing checking technician

Originally posted by rafhelp View Post
    hi,

Im a pharmacy graduate with a Masters Degree, I also have alot of retail experience. Im exploring other options available to me at the moment. Ive seen jobs been advertised for

'ACT qualified dispensing checking technician'

I was wondering how you would actually get this qualification, do you have to study a course or start on the job training. If you have any useful contacts please let me know here.

If you have a MPharm degree ( is that what you have ?) you should be thinking of registering as a pharmacist ie Pre-reg , then pre-reg exams
    Have you attempted /failed the pre-reg exams ?
    Not sure how many chances you've got,but my guess is 3 Fs and you're out...but don't know how long for.....being an ACT might be the next best thing in community pharmacy but IMHO, you will be better off using your MPharm in another setting such as industry, drug information, working in a prescribing support team, working in a UNI, teaching chemistry to secondary school kids ----there are loads of stuff you can do, that'll be more rewarding and commensurate with your MPharm degree.
    Don't get me wrong ACTs do a brilliant job, but you could do better with an MPharm.

Good luck
    Kemzo the pharmacist forumly known as kemzero

Comment

but you could do better with an MPharm