Pharmacy Technician from USA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pharmacy Technician from USA

I am certificate of Phar Tech from USA. I have no experience of Pharmacy. I am 54 yrs old. How can I start NVQ and all that. Is there any place which will train me volunterly( with out Pay) and I finish my course as dispenser or assistant. In USA all you have to do is study and pass the exam.

Re: Pharmacy Technician from USA

Are you saying that you can pass an exam to be a qualified tech without practical experience in a dispensary?
    johnep

Comment

Yes , I have passed my exam May 2007. No experience whatsoever. I liked the way things worked out for me. The termology, calculations, doses, medicines and their action with body.
      I think I got knowlege of assistant if not of dispenser. Customer services .. I had my own shop for 25 year in LONDON

Comment

You will be very welcome as shortage of techs here. You would probably have a months training period to learn computer etc and then be on your way.

At store I worked this week only help was the Saturday girl working in the holiday. Anyone with any training at all would be grabbed right away. However, must warn you that pay in community pharmacy not wonderful, probably just above minimum wage to start.
        You certainly could not support yourself.
        johnep

Comment

Thanks.
          It's nice to know that my knowledge will come to some use in UK. Now where to start is QUESTION. I do not want to just stick to dispenser/ assistant job. I want to progress and want to qualify as Pharm Tech.Please guide me who will employ me and also train me at age of 54. Hospital Pharmacy will be ideal place to work for me, Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury, Boots etc do they have trainee posts.
          I tried their web sites but no luck. Commuity Pharmacy do not want to know old man.

Comment

Ageism is against the law, but if two candidates, one 54 and other 24 guess who will get the job?