Buying a pharmacy with limited financial details

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a pharmacy with limited financial details

I am new to the forum so apologies in advance if some questions have been answered in the past although I didn’t seem to find anything similar to my query. I am a community pharmacist looking to buy a pharmacy for the first time.
    There are a couple of pharmacies I am interested in however hesitating in terms of the limited financial info provided by the vendors. They are two separate vendors, one of them provided details of turnover, expenses, NHS sales, rent/lease expenses but no details purchases, stock value or profit/loss.
    The other would only provide turnover, otc sales, staff costs and rent/expenses but no details of sales/purchases or general expenses or profit/loss.
    The former is a company disposal therefore they will not provide any further details so it’s a matter of take or leave it as is. The latter however is a retirement sale and have said they would provide further details but has been months with no progress.
    My question is how do you proceed in such scenarios? How do you deduce if financially viable and without such info will the banks even lend?
    Thank you in advance.

You need to know gross and net profit to value a business, ideally over 2-3 years to judge the trend. Have you spoken to lenders to see what they need to know or to a broker familiar with the area?
    Don’t do anything without legal and accounting advice from professionals experienced in pharmacy sales. It costs but pays for itself in the long run.

Comment

Originally posted by hibernia View Post
      You need to know gross and net profit to value a business, ideally over 2-3 years to judge the trend. Have you spoken to lenders to see what they need to know or to a broker familiar with the area?