Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hospital pharmacy

Hi all,

Im currently a pharmacy student, and I haven't been on many pharmacy placements. In some of our things that we are tested in at uni, are scenario-based questions, whereby how would we react to a certain scenario from our point of view. I was wondering if anyone would be able to explain the roles of the various pharmacists in hospital pharmacy (are there on-call pharmacists?), and how for example as a pre-reg student/ pharmacy student, who the various different roles in a hospital pharmacy you could go to, and what help they would be able to provide you with- if that makes any sense?

And the same with a community pharmacy, so for example this is one of the scenarios ive come across in a community setting- whereby a patient has come into the pharmacy, with the wrong medication that had been dispensed from another pharmacy thats now closed - and this patient is going on holiday tomorrow, what would you do? and what would you do with the medication they had come in with?
    In this case would it be appropiate to do an emergency supply- if they arent a regular patient of the pharmacy, how would i confirm the dosage of the medication? would contacting their gp be appropiate in this case i.e. for me to confirm the medication their patient is on and the strength of it etc.? Is faxing over a prescription necessary here (what are the cases when you do fax over a prescritpion?)
    As well as this, would i put the medication in patient-returns, and then the next morning call up the pharmacy and let them know of the issue that's happened? or because this pharmacy has dispensed the wrong thing - wouldn't i have to let them know and return the medication so they could complete an error log?
    I'm not entirely sure on the in's and out's of this.And so im finding it difficult to answer questions.

thanks for any help.