Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locum pharmacist

Hi,
    I am new to community locuming so had a couple of questions.
    1) When do I inform HMRC I am planning to work as a locum? I read I can inform within 3 months of working, the reason being I am only covering the days other locums can't do, max 5 days a month or so. I have two little ones just want to keep myself in the field, nothing more than that for now.

2) Do I need an accountant for that or is it easier and less costly to do myself?

3) if I do find a permanent role what happens then? Do I inform hmrc of change of situation

Sorry if these sound like silly questions but I'm a little confused from what I've been reading up.

I informed HMRC when I started locuming and like you only did a couple of days a month. I got an exemption from NI contributions form as I wasn't earning enough. At the time the limit was <£5k per year. I got an accountant as I had no knowledge or interest in doing this myself, and I keep very careful and thorough records, and just send a summary email to her to submit my tax return. If you get a permanent job then you would I presume inform them and go on the payroll at work. I have a permanent job now plus some self employed locum work so I still have the accountant. It is tricky at first but your records should be easy if you only do a few days. Keep on top of your invoicing and devise your own record keeping system - we pharmacists are good at that! Hope you enjoy it.

Comment

Open a savings act (I actually had a Nationwide business acct , paid 4% interest in those days). put your earnings in that. Like you I was working full time, but as a rep, I just did every other Saturday morning for the coop and One hour Sunday rota for two weeks out of three. By the time I had deducted mileage and other expenses, made a loss each year that I could set against PAYE.
      johnep

Comment

Thanks. So you suggest having a separate account as well.