Dispensing errors compensation for patients

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dispensing errors compensation for patients

Hi, I am a pharmacy student and currently working as a part-time dispenser in a community pharmacy. I am quite new in dispensing and dispensing errors happenned... and it has been twice (in 4 months), my pharmacists missed them too.

This time, I got a script of 6 items and one of them is 2x28 Istin. I didnt know how i missed it and i dispensed 1x28 (maybe because i only print out 1x28 label and dispense against the labels). Later, when the patient get it, she called up and worried nothing else but "this is your error. Now what you can do for me? This is serious, do you know what will happen to me because of your error??" I apologize and asked her if she could come to collect the other box... she said "I lived 3 miles away! Do you know how inconvenient it is to me! etc..."

And the other time, I dispensed telmisartan 80mg instead of 20mg. The dosage is 1 tablet daily. The patient came back 3 days later complaining of the error and claimed that she had taken 5 of them... she sounds less concerning about her health and keeps on demanding that it was our fault and should do something about it...

So... i heard about these compensation thingy that most community pharmacies do... how does it works? Does it means that the company is bribing the patient to keep quiet? I never wanted to ask my colleagues because i felt guilty enough to say nothing but sorry... Sometimes, i felt like i'm being blackmailed by these patients. Can somebody tell me more about this?

Re: Dispensing errors compensation for patients

Originally posted by algie View Post
    Hi, I am a pharmacy student and currently working as a part-time dispenser in a community pharmacy. I am quite new in dispensing and dispensing errors happenned... and it has been twice (in 4 months), my pharmacists missed them too.