Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Not sure I made the right decision. Are ANY pharmacists happy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not sure I made the right decision. Are ANY pharmacists happy?

To cut a long story short I'm a mature pharmacy student having previously obtained a degree in a different area. I spoke to some pharmacists and got a bit of experience in community before applying for pharmacy and I thought I was doing the right thing. Aspects of both the degree and job appealed to me and I genuinely thought I would enjoy being a pharmacist. Two years down the line though I've found that occasionally I will go through phases of doubt, this being one of them, and it's all left me feeling quite lost and confused.

Since starting the degree I've gained more in-depth experience in both hospital and community pharmacy (have done ward-rounds, dispensing etc) and the more I experience the more I think that neither roles will offer me the job satisfaction I want and I'm finding that quite scary. I don't think I will hate being a pharmacist, but I can't see myself loving it and after the pretty huge decision I made, that is quite a big deal to me and to be honest is something I don't want to face. And the more community I experience the more I dislike the lack of prospects, the limited salary, the attitude of some patients, the hours, the retail aspects to it, and how tedious, repetitive and mundane it can be. Let alone the pressure of the responsibility of it all. At the same time I do like how the day can fly by, the flexibility it can offer, how some gratitude from the odd patient can feel very rewarding and how we don't need to take our work home with us. When we go home we can truely switch off.