Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is it worth being a pharmacist?

hello.

i am looking into studying pharmacy. i already have a another degree.

the reason is because pharmacy has a reputation for being a well paid job that isnt too stressful and you can also work partime.

however i am concerned about the possibility of the market being over saturated. (like optometry, too many being trained and comming from abroad). is this a current problem for pharmacists?

what are the prospects of getting a full time job? is pharmacy a job that requires a lot of keeping up to date? ie if i took a few years off could i come back and apply for a job?

pharmacy also seems to have a rep for being boring? is that true?

how difficult is the uni course? i personally dont like courses that require a lot of coursework, i am more of an exam person.

lastly i know some of you dont like your working enviroments, but i am a teacher and we do have a tough time with our students/parents/managers lol so i may find rude customers not so difficult to deal with.

Re: is it worth being a pharmacist?

The reason is because pharmacy has a reputation for being a well paid job that isnt too stressful and you can also work partime.
    Well paid, not really - average salary 35 to 40k ish
    Not too stressful - you try handling 200 drug addicts in one day!
    Part-time - true

however i am concerned about the possibility of the market being over saturated. (like optometry, too many being trained and comming from abroad). is this a current problem for pharmacists?
    Not a real problem at the moment, but could easily change

what are the prospects of getting a full time job?
    Excellent, virtually 100%

is pharmacy a job that requires a lot of keeping up to date?
    Very much so - thousands of drugs already, and new ones coming out all the time

ie if i took a few years off could i come back and apply for a job?