Pharmacy placement or charity work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pharmacy placement or charity work?

I'm a first year pharmacy undergrduate student. I've applied around to boots, local hospitals etc to get a summer placement ages ago. But were all turned down. I've had some experience in a local independent community pharmacy, but my question is should I just do some work in an independent pharmacy over summer or do charity work instead? What will hold more ground for when i apply next time around? Also is it vital to get experience in your first year? As i've heard if you don't you are greatly disadvantaged when applying next summer compared to other people.

Re: Pharmacy placement or charity work?

If you have never worked in a pharmacy, then you need experience. What were you doing all through A levels. Ihad a paper round and worked as saturday boy at local Boots. Most pharmacies where I locum employ a Saturday boy/girl who then automatically works in the holidays as I did.

Often I arrive for a locum to find only the Saturday boy as the other member of staff. Once or twice it has been their first day!
    johnep

Comment

Originally posted by mysteryman View Post
      I'm a first year pharmacy undergrduate student. I've applied around to boots, local hospitals etc to get a summer placement ages ago. But were all turned down. I've had some experience in a local independent community pharmacy, but my question is should I just do some work in an independent pharmacy over summer or do charity work instead? What will hold more ground for when i apply next time around? Also is it vital to get experience in your first year? As i've heard if you don't you are greatly disadvantaged when applying next summer compared to other people.
      its your first year - just relax and do whatever in the summer.

btw - if you live in london or kent then i may be able to get u a summer job at a small multiple.

Comment