Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do pharmacists do on-calls??

Hi,

Could you tell me please if pharmacists working at hospitals or communities do on-calls, if yes how often, what kind of hours, what kind of quiries or emergencies they get during on-calls?

(The country I graduated from (non EU) I had to study 5 years full time at university, and to get a place in pharmacy there I needed a very high marks, we do baccalaureat there we need minimum of 89% total, it comes after medicines and equal to dentistry, and it is much higher than any other professions or studies such as veterinary, law, accountancy, engineering...etc. Now I am living in the UK i have to do a one year conversion course and then pre-reg this will make it with my previous study 7 years. I am regretting that I didn't do dentistry now, reading all about pharmacy and their responsibilities and their low salaries compared to their stressful role and responsibilities.)

Thank you.

Hey, YES pharmacists in the UK do on-calls. It all depends where you work really. In the hospitals, most of the basic grades will do on-calls but in community I think it is all up to the company you work for and whether they provide the "out of hours" services. If you are in hospital then presumably you'll have a rota. When you are on call, you can be called any hours from the time your department shuts to when it opens the next morning and being in hospital would mean the queries are all clinical and drug administration, drug compatibilities, IV drug dosage rates etc. If they need the medicines urgently then pharmacist on-call has to come in any time of the night or even early morning to make the supply. Hope that helps!

Comment

Thank you very much for your reply dear CptJoshi.