New Pharmacist

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Pharmacist

Hi every1! I am a newly qualified pharmacist. I completed my pre-reg year in a hospital pharmacy. However, I now want to work in the community. I was thinking of starting to locum (while i am looking for a permanent job). However, I havent had much experience in the community. Do u think its risky starting to locum at this stage?
    Thanks

Hi,

congrats on registering - was it just me or was the exam pretty straightforward?

I would advise that before locuming you gain some experience in community, by working with someone for a week or so at a reduced rate (or for free if need be). Community pharmacy is very different to hospital pharmacy; no substituting, dealing with MDS, responding to patient's symptoms, supplying EHC, doing MURs, dealing with methadone and subutex and so on. Also you are often isolated professionally as most of the time you'll be the only pharmacist in the pharmacy, so you need to know who you can call.

There's no reason you can't locum, just get some experience first.

Comment

Originally posted by Steve G
      Hi,

congrats on registering - was it just me or was the exam pretty straightforward?

I would advise that before locuming you gain some experience in community, by working with someone for a week or so at a reduced rate (or for free if need be). Community pharmacy is very different to hospital pharmacy; no substituting, dealing with MDS, responding to patient's symptoms, supplying EHC, doing MURs, dealing with methadone and subutex and so on. Also you are often isolated professionally as most of the time you'll be the only pharmacist in the pharmacy, so you need to know who you can call.

There's no reason you can't locum, just get some experience first.
      I agree with Steve has said, but I'd say you probably need longer. Why not take a job as a relief manager first, or work for a company before you go self employed?