Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why are pharmacists not trained better at diagnosing?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why are pharmacists not trained better at diagnosing?

We have all been told from our very first year at pharmacy school that pharmacists are the experts in medicines, something which is not up for debate. However, as a newly qualified pharmacist I have been upset at this rather abysmal lack of training we receive to be able to assess and diagnose patients. As pharmacists in the community, we have more patient exposure than any other HCPs, yet, I would say, we probably receive the least amount of training in diagnosing even the most simple ailments.
    I keep hearing that pharmacists only deal with "minor ailments" so we don't need more in depth training, but this is rather silly. Nothing is minor until it has been determined to be minor by someone trained to make that decision. Are we as pharmacists trained adequately to make such judgements? I am reminded of a case involving a GP diagnosing a 50 something year old lady with IBS after she complained of having constant bloating and she ended up dying as she actually had ovarian cancer. Even GPs i.e trained diagnosticians can make such errors and yet we pharmacists are expected to see more patient by the day. On some days I almost feel like a dermatologist given the number of skin ailments patient's present with, on other days I feel like a paediatrician and so and and so forth.