Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the significance of combined therapy of an ACE inhibitor and a beta blocker?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the significance of combined therapy of an ACE inhibitor and a beta blocker?

Hi, I'm a second year pharmacy student, studying at the moment for my summer exams. In my lecture notes and past papers, there were so many times where the combined therapy mentioned in the title was mentioned. I remember a question asking,

"Is this treatment safe or not? Please explain." or something along the lines of that. The only answer I could think of was that no (which I'm sure I am incorrect) because both lowers the human body's blood pressure, therefore would lead to hypotension and possibly fatigue and tiredness.

Also I don't understand what it means when they say titrating the dose for this treatment. Does it mean that they'll increase the dose for each until the maximum therapeutic effectiveness has been reached for the patient?

If anyone could give me an answer that would be easily understood for a university level patient, that'd be great.

I take both Candesartan and Atenolol. ACEs lower BP by decreasing kidney resistance to flow and Atenolol acts on bundle of Hiss to lower heart rate, thereby decreasing BP.
    You should remember A B C D
    Ace inhibitors, Beta blockers , Calcium antagonists and diuretics.
    I take Atenolol, Candesartan. Lercandipidine and Spironolactone. The combination has been very effective and I am in the process of lowering doses to prevent dizziness due to orthostatic hypotension.. ( Danger of falls). You must be totally at ease with the pharmacology.
    johnep

Comment

a,b, c and d has changed a while back to a, c, d (with b being fourth line) unless Other issues except for essential hypertension present e.g. hf, mi etc ... NICE has a great algo for this. Worth looking at.