Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• responsibility level, locum v's perm

hi folks,

can anyone tell me if there is an increase in the level of responsibility placed upon a pharmacist that accepts a permanent role instead of being a locum. as a pharmacy manager do you have any responsibility for the pharmacy when they are not there?

thanks
    S A

Re: responsibility level, locum v's perm

I'm a pharmacy manager and when Im not there (weekends and holidays), clinical responsibility for prescriptions and advice given out is totally the locum on that days responsibility, but its me that has to:

1.Sort out any errors that may have occured (not often) and follow up the patients and paperwork needed.
    2.Deal with the customers who were promised an item that the locum hasnt ordered. (very often)
    3.Deal with customers whose repeat prescriptions should have been ordered on days off and havent.
    4.Sort out the paperwork and usually count the scripts from the days off i've had that the locum has left.
    5.Tidy up the mess left etc

If I have a week off it usually takes a couple of days to get things running smoothly again.

These problems are just dispensing problems, looking after staff issues are a massive part of being a permanent pharmacist manager.

I reckon a third of my day is taken up with staff and two thirds are what Im actually trained to do.

Comment

Forgot about all the effing targets that are constantly put on you as a regular pharmacy manager. MURS, Script volume, OTC sales, collection percentages, switching numbers, owing percentages, mystery shopper scores, Head Office Audit targets.