Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone help?

Hello Everyone!

I am currently a fourth year student at The University of Brighton. I have just discovered this forum while browsing online for some starting points for my fourth year project. I was wondering if anyone here may be able to offer any help.

I would like to look into issues of attitude, opinion and trust between patients and Pharmacists, but also perhaps between other healthcare professionals and Pharmacists. Why do people have the views that they do about our profession, what factors influence them? How much do people actually know about the skills of a Pharmacist. Why do patients seldom seem to trust what a Pharmacist says? What needs to be done to improve relationships with patients and other healthcare professionals? It would also be very interesting to look at how these points have changed over time and how they vary geographically now and why. What will the profession become in the future, is the proposed evolution of the profession in clinical roles actually feasible considering all of the above? These are still only vague ideas but I would very much appreciate any ideas anyone may have.

I found this forum by reading a thread about a Pharmacist in an episode of the BBC's Holby City:

http://www.pharmacy-forum.co.uk/phar...character.html

I was shocked by this! Do we ever get any good press in fiction? Why? Why does it only seem to be the doctors that get all the glory? Wouldn't it be fun to petition the BBC to include a good guy Pharmacist character in Casualty or Holby City! I can see it now, a young sexy Pharmacist bursting through some double doors to save the day! Hmm.... as if. If anything, it'd be a dottery old man Pharmacist who nearly kills some one by mixing up some vials of some drug and a hip young house officer that saves the day. It's not fair!