Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's a better choice? Help!

Hello everyone,

I am a 4th year pharmacy student, and I am quite confused at the moment of what to choose Boots or hospital pre-reg?

I have a couple of days to make this decision, which is making the whole thing a lot worse.

Would those who have done Boots and hospital pre-reg please help. What do you think I should go for?

If I choose to do a hospital pre-reg, will I be able to work for Boots after qualifying?

I would appreciate your help very much.

Thanks

Re: What's a better choice? Help!

Well you are a glutton for punishment! If you are a people person, then do prereg in community, will have a couple of weeks in hospital anyway. If more of a systems person then hospital will be more clinically orientated, and you should get a couple of weeks in community.
    johnep

Comment

Hi I did a Boots summer placement in my 3rd year and initially wanted to do my pre-reg there because I thought I would be able to work for them afterwards. Then I changed my mind and managed to get a hospital pre-reg place and decided I wanted to do hospital pharmacy.
      Choose the hospital pre-reg if you really want to do hospital pharmacy and if you want to do a diploma afterwards. Its hard to get into hospital pharmacy because most hospitals prefer for you to do pre-reg in a hospital. Although saying that its not impossible to go from community to hospital.
      Choose the Boots pre-reg if you know that you want to work for Boots in the future. As I said before you can always go from community to hospital later on if you change your mind and decide hospital pharmacy is for you.
      Boots pay is less than hospital pre-reg but you earn more after qualifying in the long term.
      [B]PJS[/B]

Comment