Queries from blister packs!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Queries from blister packs!

Ok i would be really grateful if someone could shed some light on two items that i came across today at work,, Please remember im still learning and asking lots of annoying questions as a prereg who is desparate to understand more!!

Metronidazole 400mg as a single dose at night- Indication? Patient had been on it regularly for months, i dont know why and as these patients are blister packs i cannot ask them! Its so frustrating!! Im guessing prophalyxis against an anaerobic infection...!??! Also is 400mg appropriate for prophylaxis?
    Im not sure, any thoughts appreciated!

Also prednisilone 7.5 qds-morning, noon, tea time, night, I was of the opinion that prednisilone was always given in one lot in the morning to mimic cortesol production, is there an indication that would require it spaced out in this way? Could it be to minimise side effects? Thats about all my brain can come up with,

Thankyou, Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Queries from blister packs!

Trimethoprim often given prophylactically to children. Metronidazole sometimes given in single dose of 2g, never come across given nightly, Does pt have a catheter?.

Yep, steroids usually given in one dose. Maybe Dr was american where qd means once daily.

Have come across bd dosage but not four times a day.
    johnep

Comment

No -no catheter,, it boggled me, and i think i was annoying my pharmacist with aswell with my 'but why' queries!! These things keep me awake at night, i need to know if there is a reason im overlooking, its silly really.

Comment

Wild guess at Chrohn's - you could always ask the surgery - and check that the BNFs suggested monitoring is being done for treatments courses greater than 3 months.

Jeff

Comment

As a wildcard guess, antabuse has had some supply problems I think--could it be for alcoholism?

Comment