tired of waiting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tired of waiting

I am a RPSGB registered pharmacist from the Baltic country, haven’t worked in the UK, but have had 2 years experience in my home country. I am willing to work as a retail pharmacist, but I’m tired of waiting because it hasn’t happened so far. I did successfully a language test and an agency organized me an interview with a well known pharmacy chain and generally it went well, but I wasn’t confident to use a car. It took weeks and now they want to arrange another appointment, but I’m afraid it lasts too long again. I told them to consider any area, but they look places near to me and find only relief positions – maybe it’s normal, I don’t know...
    It looks like all the agencies are the same and they don’t lead too far. I haven’t looked around so deeply because of waiting a call from the agency. The agency says the waiting is because of managers (hardly accessible). I know I should contact directly with employers... but maybe you can give some advice or explain the situation.
    Thank you!
    Last edited by kadrig; 23, February 2008, 06:38 PM. Reason: deleting

Re: tired of waiting

I think that the first thing that needs to be pointed out is that the world doesn't owe you a living just because you are a pharmacist. You must be prepared to move. Not driving is a serious drawback so drive!!

However, the back pages of the Pharmaceutical Journal are full of jobs every week. Agencies are ok but why bother when contact details of all the major employers and vacancies amongst independents are advertised in the PJ?

Good luck but you will have to do more to help yourself.
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Hmbyj0XFUhA

Comment

Well said Tony, I have met lots of graduates wgho think they are´entitled´to a well paid job. I very rapidly realised that qualifications just get you up a rung on the ladder and you still have to make your own way, as you have done.