Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternative careers for Pharmacy students

Hi,

I'm currently a 2nd year pharmacy student who is worried about the future of the profession and although I would love to practice as a pharmacist I fear the oversupply of graduates will degrade the profession if that is not already the case and I worry about the downward effect this will ultimately have on pay.

So my question to you is what alternative career paths are there for those with a pharmacy degree that are not necessarily related to pharmacy?

Thanks

Re: Alternative careers for Pharmacy students

This topic come up several times.Use the search box to search the forum.
    johnep

Comment

If you have a yearning, graduate in pharmacy but become a science teacher via PGCE.
      Pharmacists would make good science teachers as we realise there are no real boundaries between the sciences.
      Possible busaries if you look for them.
      TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language used to be advertised a lot)

As Johnep says - search the forum.
      47 BC : Julius Cesar : Veni Vidi Vici : I came, I saw I conquered.
      2018 AD : Modern Man : I shopped, I clicked, I collected.
      How times change.

If you find you have read something that has upset or offended you an anyway please unread it at once.

Comment

I recently had a meeting with the pharmacy schools careers advisor - they were bemused that I would consider a career outside of pharmacy.

I then pointed out:
        (1) The cap on student numbers has been officially removed.
        (2) More Schools of pharmacy are being built.
        (3) Remote supervision is back on the agenda.

They were shocked - the academics had assured them that everything was good and supply was controlled to meet demand, i.e. they'd lied to the schools careers advisor.

She had no alternative career to suggest because pharmacy is such a vocational degree!

Comment