Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locum pharmacist Ltd company IR35

Hi Everyone

I’ve been a superintendent pharmacist for an individual pharmacy for last 5 years. During this time I have always given my invoices through my Ltd company to the pharmacy owner. I have locumed in other places as well, not a lot though.

last week I had a call from my accountant mentioning changes in IR35 since April 2018 in the public sector (hospitals, CCGs etc) which made me to think.
    He mentioned to me this process can be risky and as a result wants to increase his fees to £1200 per annum. In summary I think he wants to increase his fees and is trying to use the argument of IR35 to justify his fees. My accounts data are very simple with minor changes every year which shouldn’t take him more than one hour to do everything, as he’s got all data on his software.

my questions are:

1) what are the risks invloved in using ltd company to provide invoices and get paid by this way both for me and my accountant? Will affect his accounting license if anything goes wrong? As he used that as argument to increase his fees

2) what are the normal accounting fees for locum pharmacists providing their services through ltd company?

3) what is the normal percentage figure for expenses in ratio to total income for a pharmacist using ltd company?

Thanks

There was a case about IR35 recently, and the judge was very unkind about people using it when they were, effectively, full-time employees. Might be worth having a look round. Got a feeling that the GPhC might have views, too, if they got to know about it.

Don’t take my word for it, get some proper advice.

Comment

Those working for the BBC have found out to their cost. Unfortunately, in catching whales, HMRC also scooping up minnows.

johnep

Comment

My 2 tablets worth...
        Dodgy situation if you are superintendent and regularly employed.