Working for two different companies

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working for two different companies

I'm currently a third year pharmacy student and do placements over the summer to gain experience. Through summer placements I have worked for two different companies - I'll call them company A and company B. I worked for company A in first and second year summer. Then company B in second year summer, at a different time to company A. I am doing the same again this year - I signed a contract for company A for a set amount of weeks, and then a contract for company B for a set amount of weeks at a different time. There is no overlap between the placements and they're both paid. It's obvious on my CV and summer placement application forms that I have worked for the two different companies. However, I feel like it's now getting a bit complicated. I was given a pre-reg offer for company A a few months ago. I told them I couldn't accept it as I wanted to pursue hospital pharmacy, and the application process hadn't opened yet. They offered to hold the offer for me until I found out if I had a gotten a hospital pre-reg. As this is a company that I really enjoyed working for, I decided to hold the offer. However, now company B has said that they would like to consider me for a pre-reg position. I don't think applying would be a good idea as I am wanting to pursue hospital and already hold another offer for company A. My plan was to be honest, explain the situation and thank them for their consideration. However, I am now worrying that they will be annoyed that I am holding an offer for another community pharmacy and doing a placement with them, and terminate my summer placement contract.