Motivating Pharmacy staff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motivating Pharmacy staff

I am a pharmacist working in community pharmacy with a team of six support staff. Lucky me I know. However i am finding it increasingly difficult to get the staff on board with the new pharmacy contract, especially the health promotion. Leading by example does not seem to be sufficient. Even after attending health promotion sessions such as smoking cessation they are reluctant to be proactive in approaching customers. Are there any other pharmacists who are experiencing similar or better still have adapted ways to encourage staff.

motivating pharmacy staff

ask yourself...what do they get out of it all ?
    If you can find anything...work on it and get them to "buy" a share in it !

mike harvey pharmacist ex-pharma
    I am interested in the reasons why ,in general pharmacists are so critical of and cynical about the industry on which their livelihood depends. I will encourage more pharmacists to seek work in the drug industry.

Comment

Motivation Skills

Hi Hot Topic

The main problem for the staff is money, or the lack of it. Having said that, not all people are motivated by money. Some people want to get their teeth stuck into doing a good job because of things like satisfaction, personsal pride, the need to please others etc

Have you ever been on one of those leadership skills courses that your last company run?

Try to find out what pushes their buttons? Sit down with them all and try to instill some pride in the place. Let them know you want the best run pharmacy in town, where people come to it just because the staff are so great. Remind them it's nice to help someone, rather then having a row with one!

What in particular are you having problems getting them to do?
      Lively debate is encouraged but please respect the opinions and feelings of others.