How can shop staff help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can shop staff help?

Hey, I'm new here.. I'm a seventeen year old student.

I work in a (well known ) pharmacy part-time. I've done the healthcare assistant course and I'm starting a dispensary assistant course soon. I love my job so much I'm going to take pharmacy at uni next year.

My question; The pharmacy is very busy and VERY short staffed. Oe of the pharmacists I work with looks so stressed out at the minute. She is a great pharmacist but she has no help (no dispenser)..

All I do is give her the unfilled scripts and hand out them to customers... and file prescriptions. What else can I do to help? I know it isn't my place to interfere, I am just shop assistant, but am really worried about her. I wish I was qualified to help more and make her job easier (and mine less stressed from customers getting angry)

Any tips for shop staff to make your job easier?

Re: How can shop staff help?

What a most unexpected (and thoroughly welcome) post..

It would appear the pharmacist is probably under so much pressure to fill (and self-check) all the presented prescriptions herself, that she hasn't much time for anything other than that.

Purely as a start, ask if she would be happy with you helping with counting tablets from bulk, ready to dispense, for her to label. (always leave bulk containers on bench for checking). Always work from the original script, and not from the labels. The pharmacist will let you know exactly how she would like you to do this.

If she is happy with that, see how it goes from there..

Best of luck for the future..I'm sure you will go far!

Fleegle.
    Don't Stop Believing

http://youtube.com/watch?v=rnT7nYbCSvM

Comment