Working in Surgeries???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working in Surgeries???

What is it really like working for a pharmaceutical company that goes into surgeries - hoping to change patient's medication?

Re: Working in Surgeries???

I worked as a rep in the 60s and later in the 80s and 90s.

In the 60s there were few reps (30 in our company) and it was easy to see Drs. We were trained to present facts re our product and demonstrate advantages over existing medication for a cohort of pts. The Dr could then make up his mind and change if he wanted to.

In th 80s training became more intense and we were told to press for 'committment' to change to our product. We used clinical papers to illustrate advantages. This time the company I worked for (one of the smaller) had 200 reps. Other companies ran several sales forces and there was Innovex who supplied extra reps on contract. This meant that Drs were besieged by reps and the job became very hard.

The latest development is to promote branded generics particularly to dispensing Drs where the Dr may be offered some inducement and the brand is priced just below DT price (for a while).

The reps will sometimes ask to be allowed access or provide a disc to change pts over.

When the DT catches up with the market price, the pts are then on a more expensive product.

repping to GPs is not a job I would enjoy now.

johnep

Comment

Originally posted by pharm2007 View Post
      What is it really like working for a pharmaceutical company that goes into surgeri, es - hoping to change patient's medication?

Its great...I work in surgeries too, but I am employed by a PCT
      Kemzo the pharmacist forumly known as kemzero

Comment

thanks for your replies. I've seen this job advert which says it's for a clinical support pharmacist position working for a famous pharmaceutical company. Do you think it's just a renamed sales rep job?

Comment