Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Career switch needed (slight rant attached)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career switch needed (slight rant attached)

So, I'm fairly new to the world of pharmacy having recently qualified and I'm sort of regretting it - immensely. Getting terrible offers to locum, working with incompetent counter technicians and dealing with rude patients are just some of the things I encounter daily. The last straw was a locum shift, where a patient started screaming and I quote; "How long does it take to put pills in a box?". I did my pre-reg in community and carried on locum work in community too. I'm currently settled into a hospital position though I still feel out of place and uneasy about the whole thing. Rant over.

I'd like to move into the industrial sector. While laboratory work is not what I'm looking for, I would love the opportunity to focus on administrative work surrounding medicines and a career in the industry or MHRA or regulatory affairs sounds wonderful. I've seen a few posts here of how people managed to break into the industry side as well as on the PJ; though I would like a more in depth explanation of the process.

As in; which roles in industry are more suitable to someone with community/hospital experience and why, what the salary is like, what the work life is like and so on. (The more the better)
    I am doing my homework and I've been looking into Pharmacovigilance and Qualified Persons so far but I welcome other suggestions.

Apologies to anyone offended by my attitudes towards patient-facing pharmacy roles but in my albeit limited experience, it's a nightmare.

Regards,
    Em

Where are you based most industry jobs seem to be down south near London.
    Personally I’m in the same position as you been a locum for just under a year and have no passion for it looking to exit community but your saying hospital is the same are you band 6?

Comment