Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• From community to industry

Hi all,

I have been working in community for the last five years. I was wondering if you have any advice when it comes to moving into the pharma industry.

I have applied for a few medical information jobs, but my applications have been rejected for all of them, without even reaching interview stage.

Also, is there any entry level jobs in the pharma industry which starts at approx 40K and would be suitable for a pharmacist community experience, or am I expecting too much as a starting salary ?

I have looked at previous post too, but I thought your more insights would be very helpful as well particularly when it comes to the specifics in my situation.

This has appeared in my inbox. It’s from the RPS’s website; Perspectives of young Pharmacists on working in industry
    http://groups.rpharms.com/_forum/for...ID=73236#73236

Hope it helps.

Comment

These days, not much industry left. In the days when pharmacists could command higher salaries in retail, the BsC Chem grads began to take over all the production jobs. They have continued to recruit the same, particularly with the demise of the British Chemical Industry. I got in by starting as a Medical Rep. Took a 25% reduction in pay but got a car and expense account and five day week. These days, not all that many Pharma companies left. Many contract out their sales operations to companies such as Innovex. Have a look in Thursday edition of the Telegraph jobs page.
      johnep

Comment

I don't think your salary expectations are real. I have worked as a senior multilingual medical information officer, 9-17:30 job, Monday to Friday, for less than your entry level expectations. There are jobs out there, though, and if you want it, you've got to be prepared to take a drop.

Comment

Originally posted by johnep View Post