Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Application for Band 6 pharmacist

Hi all,

I am a newly qualified pharmacist (qualified yesterday!), completed my pre-registration year within a community pharmacy and currently unemployed looking to transfer to hospital pharmacy. Unlike many pharmacists I have come across I have quite liked community pharmacy, I am generally quite passionate about pharmacy and feel regardless of which sector all pharmacists can make a significant difference to patients. Having said that, my passion is clinical pharmacy, my knowledge of clinical pharmacy is fairly good and I want to progress further. I applied to do my pre-registration year within hospital however unfortunately interviews aren't my best of friends so didn't make it.

I am currently applying for Band 6 jobs and would really appreciate some advice in terms of application. For example, when using examples to complement statements how do I do this without sounding too wordy/story like.

If anyone that has made the move from community pre-reg to hospital pharmacist or anyone else can give me some tips of successful application I'd really appreciate it. Thanks in advance

The best advice I ever got for interviews was the STAR technique. If you are asked to display a competence set the Scene, describe the Task/challenge you needed to overcome, explain the Action you completed to overcome it and state the Result/outcome.

This is usually how a good interviewer will score your interview so you are giving your responses in a structured format that should hopefully allow you to stay on point and easily rack up a good interview score.

Good luck in any other interviews going forwards and you could always stay in community for 3 years then look at GP practice/care home/urgent care roles that would be more clinical and should come with an IP qualification.
    I remember when a blog was an individual boot.

Comment