Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non prescribing practice pharmacist salary

Hi all,
    I have been offered a practice pharmacist job as part of the NHS pilot but I feel the pay is low at £18.50. I have no NHS experience but many years of community pharmacy experience. Does anyone know what sort of hourly rate practices are offering to pharmacists in my situation?

Thank you

I know of a couple of people who have negotiated the salary upwards so that’s worth a try. They did it by getting the surgery to top up the salary for them to a more realistic amount. The scheme does have a lot of study days on it as as I understand so it’s not too bad. It’s essentially a training course and you get the IP qualification as well as mentoring whilst on the scheme. Even if you can’t get more money I’d still recommend doing it if you can afford to take a hit in salary. Obviously this depends on your personal circumstances and wether or not you can take a reduced salary for a couple of years or not.
    Lively debate is encouraged but please respect the opinions and feelings of others.
    Please help keep the forum vibrant by spreading the work to friends and colleagues via word of mouth or social media.
    Thank you for contributing to this site.

Comment

It does sound like a really interesting role and I’d love to take it but it is a lot less money and I’m only part time so it makes a big difference. How long does the IP training course take to complete? Do you like prescribing?

Comment

• admin
        admin commented
        Editing a comment
        It is a much more interesting role and I really like it to be honest. Prescribing is something that made me really nervous when I started doing it but now I feel fine about it. I often supplement my income by working my days off from the surgery with locums. Why don’t you try to Push for mor money, add in a few locum days, and you should be ok. You won’t tegret making the change.