Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to get involved in GP pharmacist training pathway as a community pharmacist?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get involved in GP pharmacist training pathway as a community pharmacist?

Hi everyone,

I am a community pharmacist working for a big chain in UK but I am looking to change sector to qualify as IP and work as a clinical pharmacist in GP practices.

I have been doing lots of reading and researching, trying to find more information regarding how to get involved in GP pharmacist training pathway, but it seems like one cannot simply apply without a surgery backing you up? I read something on CPPE like the employing bid site or surgery will have to complete a proof of appointment declaration before I can register to get involved. So my question is: as a community pharmacist not employed by a surgery is there a way to get into the pilot scheme? I am a bit lost in the overwhelming information on the CPPE website and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I was exactly in the same position as you in 2016, working for a pharmacy chain, 'black horse' and then I found a job on the NHS website based in my area for the position of clinical pharmacist. You had to be trained as a pharmacist for 2 years only. That was the only criteria and it didn't matter from which sector you came from.

If I were you, I would check the NHS jobs website daily as there are always new opportunities.

I was part of the first wave when I initially applied for the position. There are more waves coming, so be pro-active and look on NHS jobs regularly.