Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continuing education for career progression in primary care

Hello,

I'm a newly qualified pharmacist looking for the next thing to do. I'm currently managing a community pharmacy and i'm looking at undertaking a part time postgrad course in my spare time. id like to improve my clinical knowledge with the aim of eventually becoming an independent prescriber.

What is your opinion on this? is it worth me putting 5k of my own money down for a 2 year diploma in 'clinical pharmacy in the general practice' ? will this increase my chances of being trained up by a practice in the future as an IP?

Thanks

To be honest you don't need a clinical diploma to become an IP. I don't have one but I know people that do. For 5k I wouldn't spend that much myself. Why don't you try to get a role in a surgery and look towards doing the IP course that way?
    Lively debate is encouraged but please respect the opinions and feelings of others.
    Please help keep the forum vibrant by spreading the work to friends and colleagues via word of mouth or social media.
    Thank you for contributing to this site.

Comment

• StraightOuttaDispensary
      Editing a comment
      I think you need to be qualified and working for 2 years before applying for a role in primary care. Correct me if I'm wrong.

• admin
      admin commented
      Editing a comment
      You do need to have worked in primary care for two years but being a retail pharmacist counts. I actually worked as a practice pharmacist for less then one month before I started the IP course.