Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Re: Getting on a Prescribing course Problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Re: Getting on a Prescribing course Problems?

A while ago Admin I sent me a copy of her presentation that she used to get employment as a practice pharmacist. Which was very helpful however I have not been able pursue it any further due the following and wondered if anyone else has the same issues or how to overcome them, any help would be much appreciated.

I have not been able to move forward with the practice pharmacist role application process due to after meeting the NHS lead in the area I practice and in charge of prescribing course entry ,when I met her stated that I could not get on the prescribing course run by various university because I had no job to go as a practice pharmacist I could not be allowed on the course,even if I was self funded which seemed a catch 22 since no- one will give me a practice pharmacist position without having the qualification.
    I am doing all the cppe courses so i have a insight about the role and doing diagnosis course in March which all helps but I have got a bit disillusioned with practice pharmacist application process since have a designated Dmp and permission from my employer but cannot get pass the NHS lead to allow to get on the course.

Kind regards

I am surprised you cannot self fund. I However I would expect the main issue with getting on the course to be a prescribing mentor to supervise the practical side of the course. My understanding is that the course is funded and the mentor provided by the organisation that intends to employ your as prescriber. I presume admin persuaded the practice of the value a prescribing pharmacist could bring, and as result they provided the funded the mentor and the job at the end of it.

Comment

• admin
      admin commented
      Editing a comment